Is Yoga Only Suitable for Flexible People?


Between beliefs about yoga and philosophy, they are many misperceptions, which have unfortunately prevented many people to get benefits from this great practice. It is believed, among other things, that yoga is only for flexible and strong people and yoga requires you to be vegetarian and adopt a different lifestyle you currently have or even ascetic or radical and yoga is related to being outside the system or any type of structure, and it is a practice for elderly or simply it is truly boring. In this article, I will explain why the beliefs ‘Yoga is for flexible people.’ is false.

It is a common belief that yoga is for flexible people only. On the contrary, in fact, yoga makes you flexible. While stiffer, the more you can benefit with your practice of yoga. We often think of yoga and imagine such impressive and as impossible contortions. But the truth is that, on the one hand, yoga is very simple exercise, and secondly, those associations correspond to the body of a yogi after many years of practice, but not most of the people are able to get them.

Books, videos and photographs have generated the mistaken belief that it is what is expected of us if we do yoga. In fact, yoga is for everyone and it suits to every person of all age groups.

But keep in mind that each position has a process that we all start with the basic exercises that we can do or even be close to them as far as our body allows it and if you are not flexible, actually it is when you need to practice yoga. You will see how nice it is and how you start to have very noticeable achievements and in a few years you will be doing the most difficult positions of yoga. The same answer fits in the belief that yoga is for strong and thin people. Yoga improves our physical health, but being fit and especially strong is not a prerequisite of starting yoga. To be fit and strong are the outcomes of practicing yoga.

If you observe the toga practitioners, I am more than one hundred percent sure that you will find people with extremely flexible bodies and it think this is where the observers stat thinking that they need to be flexible. Well, those yoga practitioners are flexible due to the practice of yoga and you can achieve that flexibility with yoga teacher training course in Rishikesh for sure.

Yoga is deeply linked to Sanskrit. The main texts for tradition like the Vedas, the Upanishads, the Bhagavad Gita, the Yoga Sutras and Hatha Yoga Pradipika, among others, are written in the ancient language of the Indian subcontinent. It is said to be a language with a higher vibration and was revealed to humans through the wise, so it is considered sacred. By this remains a central element of the practice and philosophy of yoga. The terms discussed in this article focus on the main concepts related to the philosophical tradition of yoga such as ahimsa, asana, atman, ajna, anahata and ashtanga.

Abhyasa (throwing)

Practice, action, method, repetition, constant effort.

Advaita (non-duality)

The nature of the universe and our true self, which is united in its various parts, mind, body and spirit, and that is one with the Absolute.

Agni (Fire or fire god)

After the god Indra, this is the god who has more prominence in the Vedas. It is called ‘mouth’ of the gods because it leads offerings of men to the deities. In Ayurveda, the digestive fire is responsible to absorb and process nutrients and experiences.

Ahimsa (Non-Violence)

It is a principle of non-violence that is mentioned in the Yoga Sutras, as the first of the Yamas or observances. It is the main ethical reference of yoga, stretching not only to hurt but compassion and achieve the quality where you live in love and integration with other creations. It is also one of the different meanings of knowledge mentioned in the Bhagavad Gita.

Ajña (knowing, perceiving and controlling)

It is also the name of the sixth chakra or third eye, which is related to the universal consciousness and intellect.

Anahata (that has not been beaten or that has not been hurt)

It is the name of the fourth chakra, the energy wheel of heart that relates to love, compassion and joy.

Ananda (completely happy)

It also refers to samadhi or enlightenment and it is one of the names of Lord Vishnu in Vishnu Sahasranama.

Apana (breath away)

The vital force that drives down and out. Exhalation which is focused and clean. The opposite and complementary force is prana which consciously unite in hatha yoga.

Aparigraha (no greed, no desire)

It is one of the Yamas mentioned by Patanjali in Yoga Sutras.

Asana (stable and comfortable posture for meditation)

It is used to refer to yoga postures.

Ashtanga (eight limbs)

Yoga as we know it is always a part of the tradition of ashtanga yoga and involves a whole way of life. The eight elements of yoga are described by Patanjali in the Yoga Sutras. It involves a simultaneous development of eight aspects that address all areas of the moral, ethical, physiological, psychological, meditative and spiritual life to achieve deep meditation and liberation of the spirit. It is also named as a method of hatha yoga.

Atman (being)

It is the same as Brahman, the eternal and infinite, the last and unchangeable reality. This spirit in human beings and all beings and material manifestations of the universe.

Avidya (ignorance)

It is lack of understanding or knowledge about the true nature of our being.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *